Governing Council

Board Members

The policies and directions of the Association are established by the governing council. In addition, the governing council manages the fiscal and other affairs of the Association. It consists of the current officers and the immediate past president of the Association, the state’s representatives to the American Public Health Association, the chairperson of each section and four elected members.


Executive Officers


Buck Wilson, PhD, MS, RD

[email protected]

President Elect

Kandi Fredere, PhD, FACHE, MCHES [email protected]
Vice President Joseph "Joey" Current, MPH [email protected]

Jervelle Fort, MPH, CHES, CPST

[email protected]
Treasurer R. Taylor Lee, MBA, FACHE, CPM [email protected]
Immediate Past President Megan Weis, DrPH, MPH, MCHES [email protected]
Affiliate Representatives 
Affiliate Representative to APHA Governing Council (ARGC) 7/2019-2/2022
Rich P. Timmons, MPA, CGFM
 Four Elected Members
Member-at-Large 2022-2024 Term
 Keisha D. Long
Member-at-Large 2022-2024 Term
 ML Tanner, LRA
Member-at-Large 2023-2025 Term
 Brooke A. Brittain, MS, RD, LD, CHES, CLC
Member-at-Large 2023-2025 Term
 Lisa Davis, MBA, MPH, BS, RN


 Section Chairs
Behavioral Health
Elizabeth A. Demeo, BS, MCHES, CTTS-NCTTP, CPST
Epidemiology Disease Control
MyLinda O'Quin, BSN, RN 
[email protected]
Environmental Health
Beata DeWitt
Health Administration
 Tangela Davis
Health Education
C. Suzette McClellan, MPH, MCHES
Health and Human Services
Karen Smith

[email protected]

Management Support
Tammy Thomasson
 Joseph "Joey" Current, MPH
Public Health Nursing 

Ellen B. Cooper, BSN, RN

 [email protected]
Public Health Social Work and Counseling  Charkeisha Moore  [email protected]
Student Megan Austin, MPH  [email protected]